Friday, December 4, 2015

Really Quickies: What Brave New World Is This Dept.

     It’s a mind-boggler. Just this morning, I’ve received several “Nigerian 411 scam” style solicitations from the domain, all of which say the same thing:

     Good day to you,i have a great request for you regarding $24M.

     Say what? I’m used to receiving spam that goes “Are you into MILFs?” (As it happens, I’m married to one) or “Like my booty? Click this link to video chat” (Thanks but no thanks; my face dissolves camera lenses), but this is a new one.

     Is there anyone among my Gentle Readers who can tell me whether is a domain that’s actually used by the Kansas City public schools? If so, just what kind of in-class project is this?


  1. I be you, bro, I be jumpin' on that 24 million.

  2. Naah. I'm too busy exploiting my MILF -- and hoping she doesn't notice.

  3. Major nameserver is DNS1.KCMSD.K12.MO.US, which is legitimately the Kansas City (Missouri) School District.

    Still, anyone can fake an email address, and it's entirely possible that someone could be using the district's hardware for mischief; it's a Microsoft server, with known weaknesses.

  4. Whois info is:

    Domain ID: D163723186-LROR
    Creation Date: 2011-10-28T15:44:54Z
    Updated Date: 2014-07-14T13:29:58Z
    Registry Expiry Date: 2020-10-28T15:44:54Z
    Sponsoring, Inc. (R71-LROR)
    Sponsoring Registrar IANA ID: 9
    WHOIS Server:
    Referral URL:
    Domain Status: ok --
    Registrant ID:615868210be68510
    Registrant Name:PERFECT PRIVACY, LLC
    Registrant Organization:
    Registrant Street: 12808 Gran Bay Parkway West
    Registrant City:Jacksonville
    Registrant State/Province:FL
    Registrant Postal Code:32258
    Registrant Country:US
    Registrant Phone:+1.9027492701
    Registrant Phone Ext:
    Registrant Fax:
    Registrant Fax Ext:
    Admin ID:121092910ba61716
    Admin Organization:
    Admin Street: 12808 Gran Bay Parkway West
    Admin City:Jacksonville
    Admin State/Province:FL
    Admin Postal Code:32258
    Admin Country:US
    Admin Phone:+1.9027492701

    Doesn't look like legit public school to me...

  5. I would guess that the school district recently 'lost' a bunch of email addresses, if it didn't get hacked outright and now their addresses, if not their entire system, is being used to send spam. Either way, it doesn't look good for their IT people!


Comments are moderated. I am entirely arbitrary about what I allow to appear here. Toss me a bomb and I might just toss it back with interest. You have been warned.